Norman Cousins, Robert Ader and BBI Impact Awards

Norman Cousins Award

The Norman Cousins Award is the highest honor given by the PsychoNeuroImmunology Research Society to an individual for outstanding contributions to research in psychoneuroimmunology. Norman Cousins was an articulate spokesman and advocate for Psychoneuroimmunology, whose support and generosity has facilitated the career development of many investigators in this interdisciplinary field of endeavor. To contribute to the advancement of knowledge in psychoneuroimmunology, Ellen Cousins, Norman’s wife, created the Norman Cousins Memorial Fund, and the California Wellness Foundation provided the endowment for the Norman Cousins Memorial Award and Lecture to be delivered as a highlight of the annual meeting of the PsychoNeuroImmunology Research Society.


Previous Cousins Award Lecturers:
1991 – Robert Ader
1993 – George F. Solomon
1994 – Jean E. Merrill
1996 – Hugo O. Besedovsky
2012 – Annemieke Kavelaars
2013 – Mark Laudenslager, Volume 36, February 2014, Pages 1–8
2014 – William 'Bill' Banks, Volume 44, February 2015, Pages 1–8
2015 – Rainer Straub, Volume 43, January 2015, Page 9
2017 – Carmine Pariante, Volume 59, January 2017, Pages vii
2018 – Rodney Johnson, Volume 67, January 2018, Pages vii
2019 – Monika Fleshner
2020 – Shamgar Ben-Eliyahu
*All citations listed above are in the official journal of the PNIRS: Brain, Behavior, and Immunity.



Robert Ader New Investigator Award

In honor of Dr. Robert Ader, a pioneer in the field of psychoneuroimmunology, the PsychoNeuroImmunology Research Society presents the Robert Ader New Investigator Award. This prestigious award is presented to an outstanding new research scientist who has made exciting basic science or clinical contributions to the field of PNI. The award honors Dr. Ader’s innovation and creativity as a scientist and recognizes his contributions to the instantiation of PNI as a meaningful endeavor dedicated to the betterment of health and the prevention of disease.

Previous recipients of the New Investigator's Award:
1997 – Robert H. Bonneau
1998 – Monika Fleshner
1999 – Jeffery Woods
2000 – Firdaus Dhabhar
Previous recipients of the Ader Award:
2001 – Annemieke Kavelaars
2013 – Mark Hutchinson, Volume 30, May 2013, Pages 3–11
2015 – Aric Prather, Volume 43, January 2015, Page 10
2016 – Lisa Christian, Volume 51, January 2016, Pages v
2017 – Chris Fagundes, Volume 59, January 2017, Pages vi
2019 – Judith Carroll
2020 – Eric Wohleb

*All citations listed above are in the official journal of the PNIRS: Brain, Behavior, and Immunity.


BBI Impact Award

BBI Impact Award

Professor Keith W. Kelley, spouse Sara and daughter Megan established the Brain, Behavior, and Immunity Impact Award. The goal is to promote submission and publication of high-quality, cutting-edge research in Brain, Behavior, and Immunity and to increase visibility and participation in the Psychoneuroimmunology Research Society. The winner is the corresponding author of the paper with the most citations from those articles published three and four years prior to the award. For example, the 2019 award winner, announced in 2018, is the corresponding author of the paper that achieved the highest level of citations in 2017 to papers published in 2016 and 2015. The Kelley Family provides an annual gift of $5,000 per year and a commemorative plaque for the PNIRS to present to the winner of the Brain, Behavior, and Immunity Impact Award at the annual PNIRS meeting.

Previous recipients of the BBI Impact Award:
2017 – Caroline de Theije,
2019 – Bing Ruan, Lanjuan Li, and Hai-yin Jiang,